Tags

, , , , ,

Ok… let me celebrate. I mean let me do that without apology or apprehension, without being crass, cruel or callus.

Let me do it without regret and do it by blowing a kiss heavenwards, because if I’m his creation and am part of him, this celebration is all about him and very little about me.

I’m not boastful or braggy about what has happened to me and what I’ve done, because there isn’t anything to brag, but I want to share with you the many doors of possibilities life opens up despite one of them slamming shut.

Forget about the faulty eyes, which doctors over the years have painstakingly explained, but I’m astonished by the machinations of the human mind –the fearful, negative, anxious mind that is so sure about life being one huge mess – focused on the one closed door to the exclusion of many that are open. Now…if you call that vision, or seeing or ‘reality’, I’d rather prefer blindness.

I want to share how progressive vision loss could become a key to opening several doors. Yes, we hate to see it close the windows to the world, but we also know we have no control on the inevitable natural progression triggered by a truant gene.

But isn’t this celebration about stepping away from the obvious and into the least? After all, the unrealized, unseen and unattended aspects of life are the ones that need focused nurturing. If you happened to discover the hitherto undiscovered facet of life that would improve not only its quality but its value, there’s a reason to celebrate.

I want those experiencing gradual vision loss to believe that wonderful things are in store for them in life; that their loss has the potential to unleash a million miracles which would set them apart from those who either spend their time chasing the mirage or find life too boring to live.

I want to celebrate the inner excitement of blind men and women that remains unadulterated by a million obstacles littering their pathways. Even better, the refusal of their eyes to see that the glass’s half empty, the dead clock’s wrong 22 times a day or life has to proceed only through a well trodden path. I’m excited by their refusal to see the danger in anything unusual.

If you believe blindness is a disability that limits the perceptive ability of a human being, you may be happy to know that it’s bliss not to see things you rather wouldn’t like, such as faces hardened by cruelty or hatred; malnourished babies sucking to the dry and lifeless breasts of their mothers or… two swinging bodies on a mango tree as if telling the world that people are capable of cruelty the human mind can barely comprehend.

The miracle about blindness is to extract a drop of tear from the eyes that had never gotten moist by murders. The sight of someone swinging a white cane softens the heart not because the heartless suddenly discover they have heart, but the realization that vulnerability proves stronger than cruelty in the absence of hatred and willingness to harm others.

Look at anyone blind, the thing that’s strikes you almost instantly is the connect between their heart and their face. Now…that’s what many would call ‘childlike’.

Yes, you might ask when did humanity celebrate honesty, but it’s time we do since most of us realize deception and dishonesty pollute our environment, push us to accepting poison as nourishment, mistake delirium for passion and showmanship for statesmanly. Believe me brother, you need honesty to cleanse your mind and start discerning the wrong from the right.

So let’s celebrate the absence of physical sight, which has failed to distract our focus from the inner vision that burns so brightly from the core of our souls.

Let’s celebrate the miracle of leading a normal life even as people around us watch with undisguised amazement how we actually manage that.

Let’s celebrate because we are simply happy and there’s simplicity to our happiness.

Let’s celebrate the inner power, the strength that holds us together and carries us through the difficult times.

Oh yes, there’s lot to celebrate life for. And there’s no reason we should stop because we’re going blind.

**Click the below link to listen to a 60 minute interview I had with author coach Mark Malatesta, who is based in Bolder Colorado. In the interview, I’ve given the background story of how I fine-tuned the subject of my book “Lights Out” with Mark’s help, how I found a literary agent within five minutes of sending my query letter and several other tips and tricks to be an author.

http://literary-agents.com/literary-agents-lakshmi-subramani-lights-out/

